Skip to main content

How to Remove & Merge Duplicate Contacts on Android Phone

Duplicate contacts can be very annoying, which takes us more time to sort out the contacts we really want. People may encounter this kind of problems when switching to a new phone, syncing contacts from other accounts, or using social apps, like WhatsApp, Facebook, etc. When you have thousands of contacts, it will be painful to remove the duplicate contacts manually. Fortunately, there are some easy solutions to do it fast.   

Option 1. Select Which Contacts to Display
Nowadays, social messaging apps are popular. Most of these apps require phone number to log in, add friends, or chat. As a result, you may find that there are two or more duplicate phone numbers on your contact list. Thankfully, it is easy to make it right.

Step 1. Open your Contacts app.
Step 2. Go to Menus, and find Settings option.
Step 3. Find Contacts to display on Settings. You might find many options, including Device, SIM, Gmail, WhatsApp, Facebook, etc.

Step 4. If it is set as displaying All contacts, then choose only the source you need, Device for example.

Option 2. Merge duplicate contacts with Android built-in Contacts app
Some brand smart phones, like Samsung and HTC, allow users to merge duplicate contacts. Here we take HTC one M8 as an example. The operation of other devices should be similar.

Step 1. Open "People" app.
Step 2. Tap menu button on the top-right corner.
Step 3. Choose “Manage contacts”.
Step 4. Tap “Remove duplicates”.
Step 5. It will detect all the duplicate contacts automatically.
Step 6. A pop-up message will ask you to confirm. You can tap “OK” to proceed, or tap “CANCEL” to preview the duplicate contacts first.

Note: If two contacts with same information are saved under different accounts, like SIM and phone, they may not be seen as duplicate contacts.

Option 3. Remove duplicate contacts with a third-party tool
For Android devices that don’t support contacts merging, third-party tools are needed. You can find many similar apps in Google Play store. Here we recommend Duplicate Contacts.

Step 1. Install and run this app on your Android.
Step 2. The app will automatically detect all the duplicate contacts on your phone. After that, you can also tick or untick contacts manually.
Step 3. Tap “DELETE SELECTED”. It will ask you to confirm the operation, tap “Yes” to proceed. 

Step 4. The program will delete duplicate contacts from the list and save them as vcf file in case of future use.

Popular posts from this blog

Samsung Galaxy S8 Recycle Bin - How to Undelete Photos on Samsung

Samsung Galaxy S8 Recycle BinDoes Samsung Galaxy S8 have Recycle bin? I need to undelete valuable photos urgently. Plz help!

Recycle bin is always useful since it is nearly impossible to avoid data losing when you have a Samsung phone or other mobile devices. As for Samsung S8, if you have set up a Google account or Samsung account on your phone, the cloud Recycle bin on Gallery should have been turned on.
How to Restore Deleted Photos from Galaxy Recycle BinStep 1: OpenGallery app. Step 2: On the upper right corner of the screen, tap More. Step 3: Tap Settings. Step 4: Tap Recycle bin. Note: Some devices may have these following options: Gallery→ Drawer icon (≡)→ Settings→ Cloud syncAuto sync "ON". How to Recover Deleted Photos from Samsung Galaxy S8 without Recycle Bin Recycle bin is very helpful. However, in many cases, we have to try everything possible to undelete photos from Samsung Galaxy S8 without recycle bin. Best Samsung Data Recovery Software iReparo Android Data R…

Where Are Files on Private Mode on Samsung

Private Mode is a very useful function on Samsung Galaxy. Mobile phones are now devices full of personal information, and you won't want people to find some photos, videos, audio or other files, even your families. However, it often happens that people ask for your handset in an emergency. Say "No"? Not always. That's when Private Mode should apply. In this article, you'll learn how to use Private mode and where Private mode files are on Samsung. If you forgot Private mode password, learn how to unlock Private mode without losing data.

How to Move Files to Private Mode on Samsung In order to set files as private, we have to enable Private mode manually, and then move the files to Private mode. Let's take photos as an example.
Step 1. Go to Settings> Private mode. Read all the introduction messages on the page.

Step 2. Tap the toggle to enable Private mode. Just follow the instruction to set a secure method(pattern/pin/fingerprint).
Step 3. Go to Gallery, lo…

How to Recover Android Files Lost When Moving (Cut and Paste)

Experienced smartphone users always avoid using cut and paste when transferring files and data between mobile phone memory and SD card. Instead, they use copy and paste, and then delete the original files. It is common to see that unknown errors occur when moving files and finally all data lost. If this happens on you, you'll luckily find a solution to recover Android phone photos, videos and other files lost when moving.
How Are Files Lost When Moving Recoverable?
When you cut a file, it is added to clipboard and will be deleted after the moving. If an accident interrupts the moving, usually both the transferred and original files would be wiped. If you have no backup for those files, a reliable data recovery tool is definitely your last resort.

The Best Android Data Recovery Tool
iReparo Android Recovery is a professional data recovery software. It can recover lost contacts, messages, photos, videos, audio and other files from Android phone and tablet, including Samsung, HTC, LG, …